• Shri Mohan Charan Majhi
    Hon'ble Chief Minister
    Shri Mohan Charan Majhi

Agriculture of Sambalpur District


According to O.Malley, Sambalpur has been derived from the presiding Goddess “Samalai” whose image was founded by BalaramDev, the first Chauhan Raja of Sambalpur,beneth a Simuli (Silk Cotton ) tree. The present district was in ancient time a part of South Koshala, which roughly comprises the modern district of Raipur and Bilaspur in Madhyapradesh. From the year 1993 and subsequently in the year 2004 Sambalpur district has been divided in to four district namely Sambalpur ,Bargarh ,Deogarh and Jharsuguda and the present Sambalpur Revenue district consists of 9 blocks only.

Geographical Situation

Sambalpur Revenue District consists of three Agriculture District namely Sambalpur, Kuchinda and Rairakhol comprising nine(9) block. Out of this nine blocks Dhankauda ,Maneswar, Jujumura are mostly and part of Rengali as well as Jamankira are coming under Hirakud Command area. The rest blocks are of rainfed. The area under the Command area of Hirakud Dam Project has a fairly developed agricultural sector which contributes for the development of other sector also. The topography of the district is mostly undulating comprising ridges and valleys. All the ridges crest are the uplands and the upper slopes–the unbunded and bunded are locally called Att and Mal lands respectively. These together constitute the high lands. The valley bottom lands are called Berna lands. The low lands are called Bahal lands.


Broadly speaking 4 types of soils are available in the district.The red forest soil is available in Rairakhol and Kuchinda sub division,which are suitable for orchards & dry land crops like Arhar. The brown forest soil is available in Kuchinda area ,which is suitable for fruit crops, Sandy soil suitable for Ground nut & pulses are available in several areas.


The district experience extreme type of climate with hot and dry summer followed by humid monsoon and severe cold in winter. The temperature varies between 10 to 46 degree centigrade. The district gets rainfall from south-west monsoon. The annual average rain fall of the district is 1495.7 mm.

Deputy Director of Agriculture

DDA.Office Modipda
At/Po:  Sambalpur, PIN 768001
Tel: 0663 2402944
Email:  ddasambalpur[dot]dag[at] nic[dot]in